
[Print on two sides—fold paper to be the same size as cards. Use columns (3-4) on both 

sides.] 

 

Power Quiz Rules 

 

What It Is 

Power Quiz is a card game that brings variety and excitement to any teen Bible quizzing 

practice. The game uses two decks of cards—one for correct answers and one for 

incorrect answers—to add twists and turns to each quiz round. The cards allow quizzers 

to add additional points to their scores, “zap” the other team, steal questions (and possibly 

points), confer with their team before answering, and even bring back a teammate who 

has quizzed or errored out. There are even cards in the deck that allow the quizmaster to 

earn points—and possibly win the whole round. Power Quiz puts a whole new spin on 

quizzing that every quizzer is sure to love. Whenever you use it, kids are sure to have a 

blast.  

 

 

Basic Rules 

Note: The term “Zapped” means a player is ineligible to answer quiz questions for a 

specified amount of time. 

 



1. All quizzing rules apply, except where specified on the game cards. Example: 

Normally answering a question would garner 20 points. Some cards in the deck, when 

played will raise the point value of a correctly answered question. 

2. There are two decks of cards: the Correct Answer Deck and the Incorrect Answer 

Deck. At the beginning of each round, deal three cards from the Correct Answer Deck 

to each team. Every member of the team has access to these cards and can use them at 

any time during the round.    

3. Also at the beginning of each round, set a password. This is important because there 

are cards in the deck that require quizzers to remember the password. It can be as 

serious or as silly as you wish. The password is given to the whole group at the 

beginning of each round and is only to be shared one time. If quizzers miss the 

announcement of the password, too bad! 

4. When a quizzer answers a question correctly, he/she MUST draw a card from the 

Correct Answer Deck. He/she then has the option of playing a card from the team’s 

hand OR the card that was just drawn. Whatever option they choose, only one card 

may be played following a correct answer. To “play” a card means the quizzer reads 

the action on the card aloud and then hands the card to the quizmaster. The 

quizmaster then puts the cards on the bottom of the deck. If no play action can be 

taken based on the cards that the team holds, or the card that was drawn, the drawn 

card can be held by the team until such time as it can be played.   

5. When a quizzer answers a question incorrectly, he/she must draw a card from the 

Incorrect Answer Deck. This card takes effect IMMEDIATELY and is then returned 

by the quizmaster to the bottom of the Incorrect Answer Deck.  



6. Bonus questions: No cards are played when a bonus question is answered correctly. 

Teams that answer bonus questions correctly draw a card from the Correct Answer 

Deck, but they must wait to play it (or another card) until they answer a toss-up 

question. 

7. If a player is “Zapped,” the number of questions he/she is ineligible to answer will be 

indicated on the specific card. If using jump seats, their light must be turned off for 

that number of questions.  

8. After each round, all cards held by teams must be turned in and both card decks must 

be reshuffled. 

9. Action on cards works as follows: 

Correct Answer Deck 

Power Up Cards: These cards nullify Zapped Cards. If a quizzer draws a Zapped Card, 

A Good News/Bad News Card, or he/she does not remember the password, he/she can 

play a Power Up card so that his/her light is not turned off. 

 

Gimme Cards: These cards give you a specified amount of bonus points after a correct 

toss-up question. 

 

Point Value Cards: These cards either change the value of certain questions to 40 points 

or roll the point values back to 20. This card must be played after a correct toss-up 

question and may not count for the question just answered. 

 



Zapped Transfers: If a quizzer draws a Zapped Card from the Incorrect Answer Deck 

and has a Zapped Transfer, they can hand it to any quizzer on an opposing team. 

However, if the opposing team has a Power Up Card, the transfer bounces back to the 

person trying to transfer it. 

 

Conference Call: This card may be played after a quizzer jumps. If the quizzer thinks 

he/she knows the answer but isn’t sure, or he/she jumped too early and has no idea, 

he/she can play this card and discuss the answer with the team. 

 

I Knew That!: If a quizzer has an I Knew That! Card and is out-jumped by a member of 

the opposing team, he/she can interrupt before the answer is started and take the question 

away. No foul is given for the interruption. The question becomes his/her responsibility, 

so if he/she is incorrect or errors, an Incorrect Answer card must be drawn. If he/she 

answers correctly, a Correct Answer Deck card is drawn. 

 

Pass the Buck!: If a quizzer jumps and isn’t entirely sure he/she will get the question 

right, this card can be played. With this card, the quizzer is allowed to give the question 

to any member of the opposing team. The clock is restarted and the question becomes the 

receiver’s responsibility—if he/she answers incorrectly or errors, an Incorrect Answer 

card must be drawn. However, if the quizzer that receives the question gets it correct, not 

only do they get to draw from the Correct Answer Deck but the person that tried to Pass 

the Buck loses 10 points. Quizmasters also have the option of not allowing a Pass the 



Buck to be used if they feel not enough of the question has been read. (For example, a 

quizzer pre-jumps after, “According to Romans...”) 

 

Switch-Flip!: If this card is drawn, any quizzer on the team that has quizzed out or 

errored out may come back into the game. It must be played after a correct toss-up 

question is answered. 

 

Extra Point is Gooooooood!: It can happen. It’s question 20 and the score is tied. But, if 

a team has this card, it automatically adds 1 point to the score, and quiz is over. The only 

time that this card can be played is on question 20 when the score is tied. 

 

The Incorrect Answer Deck 

Zapped Cards: If you draw a Zapped card, you are not eligible to answer the number of 

questions (one, two, three or four) listed on the card. If you have a Power Up Card from 

the Correct Answer Deck you can play it and the Zapped Card doesn’t count.  

 

Power Grid Breakdown Cards: This is a dangerous card because you CANNOT use a 

Power Up card to counter it—you’re stuck with it! The good news is there are only two 

of these cards in the deck.  

 

Good News/Bad News Cards: When a quizzer draws this card, he/she must give a 

Zapped 1 or Zapped 2 card to someone else on his/her team. Power Up cards can be used 

to counter. 



 

Quizmaster Cards: Power Quiz makes it so that the Quizmaster is just as likely to win 

as the teams quizzing. A Quizmaster Card takes 10 points away from the team score and 

gives it to the Quizmaster. The Quizmaster keeps track of his or her score because it is 

possible for the Quizmaster to win a round. 

 

Unlucky/Lucky You Cards: Most of these cards have no effect. Read them, laugh, and 

continue on with the round. However, there are six cards that do effect the game. There 

are three Lucky You cards that allow you to pull a card from the Correct Answer Deck, 

but you may NOT play the drawn card at that time. There are also four Unlucky You 

cards that require you remember the password set at the beginning of the round. If you 

remember it, nothing happens. But if you can’t, you suffer Zapped 1, 2, 3 or 4, depending 

on the card. Power Up cards can be used to counter the Zapped. 

 

Time to Pay Up! Card: This card takes ten points away from the team score and gives it 

to all the teams participating. This means if there is a quiz between Team A and Team B, 

Team A (who drew the card) would lose ten points and Team B would gain ten points. If 

there was a quiz between Teams A, B, and C, Team A (who drew the card) would lose 

twenty points, Team B would gain ten, and Team C would gain ten. (Also, see the 

“Variations” section.) 

 

Power Up Return Card: If this card is drawn, your team must turn in all of the Power 

Up cards from their hand, put them in the Correct Answer Deck, and reshuffle. 



 

 

Quick Reference for When Correct Answer Cards May Be Played 

Power Up Cards–Any time there is a Zapped Card looming, except for Power Grid 

Breakdown Cards. If a Power Up Card is used on a Zapped Transfer Card, the Power Up 

Card is kept and the Zapped bounces back to the person who tried to transfer it. 

 

Gimme Cards–After a correct toss-up question. 

 

Point Value Cards–After a correct toss-up question. 

 

Zapped Transfers–After drawing a Zapped Card from the Incorrect Answer Deck. 

 

Conference Call–After a quizzer jumps. 

 

I Knew That!–After a quizzer from another team jumps, before (or to the Quizmaster’s 

satisfaction) the answer is started. 

 

Pass the Buck!–After a quizzer jumps, provided that the Quizmaster is satisfied with the 

spot where the quizzer jumped. 

 

Switch-flip!–After a correct toss-up question. 

 



Extra Point is Gooooooood!–On Question 20 if the score is tied. 

 

Some Things to Consider 

If you are using computer lights for the quiz, obviously, the score that the computer 

records will be a “relative” score because the software does not record the various 

bonuses and penalties that the cards give and take. For the purpose of this game, you will 

need to keep score on paper and simply use the computer seats as a reference for who 

jumped first. Because of “I Knew That! Cards” and “Pass the Buck! Cards” it may not 

always be possible to have the correct quizzer on the screen using the computer lights 

unless you wish to reset the question and have the computer read the jump after the 

quizzer who takes the question or has the question passed to them stands.   

 

Game Variations 

Playable Bonuses–If a quizzer answers a bonus question correctly they can play a card. 

 

Power Up Minus One–Power Up cards only subtract one from the amount of questions a 

Zapped Card calls for. For instance, if a quizzer draws a Zapped 4, in order for the 

quizzer to stay in, they have to play four Power Up Cards. If they only have two Power 

Up cards, their light is turned off for two questions, not four. 


